Maryland Delegation Announces More Than $250,000 in Federal Funding for Housing Assistance Programs

WASHINGTON, DC - Today, Congressman Steny H. Hoyer, Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen, and Congressmen Dutch Ruppersberger, John P. Sarbanes, Kweisi Mfume, Anthony G. Brown, Jamie B. Raskin, and David Trone announced $250,054 in federal funding for housing assistance programs across the state.

"This new federal funding comes during an incredibly important time as Marylanders continue to grapple with the severe economic impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic,” the lawmakers said. “Every family deserves a roof over their head and a safe space to live. We will keep working tirelessly to help expand the availability of affordable housing in Maryland."

Funding comes from the Department of Housing and Urban Development. It was authorized by the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act. It will increase funding for the Housing Choice Voucher program and help the program maintain essential operations throughout the COVID-19 crisis.

Grant awards include:

  • $158,995 – Housing Authority of Prince George’s County
  • $28, 687 – Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development
  • $21,879 – Housing Authority of Baltimore City
  • $20, 928 – House Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County
  • $8,953 – Frederick Housing Authority
  • $7,527 – Hagerstown Housing Authority
  • $3,085 – Rockville Housing Enterprises

The lawmakers previously announced over $48 million in COVID-19 economic and housing relief through for Maryland families.  They also announced more than $9 million in COVID-19 relief for tenant-based housing voucher recipients across the state.

For more information about our releases, please contact Annaliese Davis at 202-225-4131.