Hoyer, Cardin, Van Hollen, Ruppersberger, Sarbanes, Brown Announce more than $8.5 Million for Anne Arundel County Firefighters

WASHINGTON, DC - Congressman Steny H. Hoyer (MD-05), Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Dutch Ruppersberger, John Sarbanes, and Anthony G. Brown (all D-MD) applaud the recent award of more than $8,549,000 in federal funds for Anne Arundel County through the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Staffing for Adequate Fire and Emergency Response (SAFER) grant program. These funds will enable the county to hire additional career firefighters. Odenton Volunteer Fire Company in Anne Arundel County also received $238,400 through the SAFER grant to increase recruitment and retention.

"Our firefighters risk their lives every day to keep the community safe. We are committed to making sure that they have the resources that they need to carry out their mission as safely and effectively as possible. These funds were granted in response to the clear message that additional staffing would improve their ability to respond to emergencies throughout Anne Arundel County,” said the Members.

The SAFER grant program enhances the ability of fire departments around the country to attain and maintain 24-hour staffing by providing grants directly to fire departments. As co-chair of the Congressional Fire Caucus, Congressman Hoyer took a lead role in helping to establish the Staffing for Adequate Fire and Emergency Response (SAFER) Program as well as the Assistance to Firefighters Grant (AFG) Program. Each year he leads a letter with Members of Congress to the Appropriations Committee to ensure adequate funding is appropriated for the program. Over $15 million has been awarded to Fifth District fire departments since the program was established. Click here for more information. 

For more information about our releases, please contact Annaliese Davis at 202-225-4131.