Search Website

E-Newsletter Signup

Social Media


Hoyer Announces Appointments to the U.S. Service Academies

WASHINGTON, DC – Congressman Steny H. Hoyer (MD-05) today announced the names of 11 Fifth District students appointed to the United States Service Academies. The students, nominated by Congressman Hoyer, have accepted offers to the Air Force Academy, the Naval Academy, the Merchant Marine Academy, and the Military Academy at West Point. All of the service academies require a nomination from an authorized nominating source. This afternoon, Congressman Hoyer hosted a reception honoring the nominated students at the Library of Congress in Washington; six of the 11 students attended.

“Nominating Fifth District students to serve our country at our nation’s service academies is one of the greatest privileges I have as a Member of Congress,” said Congressman Steny Hoyer. “Each one of these students has a bright future ahead of them, and I am confident their time at the academies will equip them with the tools they need to succeed. I congratulate them on their accomplishments, and wish them all the very best as they begin this next chapter in their lives.”

The following Fifth District students received appointments:

U.S. Air Force Academy

Oluwatimi Olusegun, Prince George’s County, DeMatha Catholic High School
Peyton Plummer, Anne Arundel County, South River High School

U.S. Naval Academy

Spencer Crispell, St. Mary’s County, Leonardtown High School
Grant Hooper, Calvert County, Ryken High School
Annie Imhof, St. Mary’s County, Great Mills High School

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy 

Nicholas Austell, Anne Arundel County, Southern High School
Brendan Malone, Calvert County, Calvert High School

U.S. Military Academy at West Point

Ethan Aus, St. Mary’s County, Leonardtown High School
Jeremy Bone, Anne Arundel County, Southern High School
Mary Kamon, Prince George’s County, Oxon Hill High School
Zachary Sutton, Calvert County, home schooled

  • Office Locations

    Office Name Location Image Map URL
    Washington DC 2229 Rayburn House Office
    Washington, DC 20515
    Phone: (202) 333-4455
    Fax: (202) 333-5522
    Haverhill Office
    Serving Haverhill County
    1234 East. Courthouse
    Haverhill, CA 35602
    Phone: (202) 333-4455
    Fax: (202) 333-5522
    South Office
    10 Welcome Street
    Tuesdays & Thursdays
    9:00 AM- 11:00 AM

    How to use: Insert <span class="EXACT_VALUE_LABEL_AS_ENTERED_BELOW">&nbsp;</span> where you'd like the value to be populated.

    Non-breaking space within span tags - &nbsp; - is required for WYSIWYG.

    (no spaces or special characters)


    Comments (optional)
    repName John Smith  
    helpWithFedAgencyAddress Haverhill District Office
    1234 S. Courthouse
    Haverhill, CA 35602
    district 21st District of California  
    academyUSCitizenDate July 1, 2012  
    academyAgeDate July 1, 2012  
    academyApplicationDueDate October 20, 2012  
    repStateABBR AZ  
    repDistrict 1  
    repState Arizona  
    repDistrictText 1st  
    SponsoredBills Sponsored Bills  
    CoSponsoredBills Co-Sponsored Bills  
  • Press Contact

    For more information about our releases, please contact Annaliese Davis at 202-225-4131.